Different types of ICD 10 anxiety disorder - justtogrow.com

Different types of ICD 10 anxiety disorder

icd 10 anxiety disorder

ICD or International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health problems are on the 10th revision. The byproduct of this revision is the ICD 10 codes. There is a list of medical conditions that are generated by WHO and it helps the workers to identify their health conditions by matching the codes. 

ICD-10 is mostly used by doctors and physicians under the Health Insurance Portability & Accountability Act (HIPAA) and this will replace all the ICD-9 codes. Many new diagnoses can be done using ICD 10 when compared to ICD 9. Some code sets are expanded like the ICD-10-CM. they have over 70,000 codes.

ICD Code F41.9 Anxiety Disorder

anxiety disorder

ICD Code F41.9 is an ICD 10 code that is billable and is used for diagnosis reimbursement of Unspecified anxiety disorder. The corresponding ICD 9 code for anxiety is 300. The ICD F41.9 is a code that is used for the diagnosis of anxiety disorder. Anxiety is a very common psychiatric disorder where a person is often anxious and has a sore unusual kind of fear. This is also accompanied by some physical symptoms.

Some common symptoms are:

anxiety disorder
  • Anxiety
  • Anxiety disorder
  • Anxiety in childbirth
  • Anxiety in pregnancy
  • Anxiety in pregnancy antepartum (before childbirth)
  • Anxiety postpartum
  • Anxiety, chronic
  • Chronic anxiety
  • Postpartum anxiety (after childbirth)


ICD Code F41.1 is also an ICD 10 Code that is billable and used for health disorders. It is used for Generalized anxiety disorder. During this anxiety disorder, a person has irrational worry that is uncontrollable and excessive about anything and everything. This excessive worry interrupts their daily routine and normal functioning.

Other Synonyms Include:

  • Anxiety disorder, generalized
  • Generalized anxiety disorder
  • Overanxious disorder
  • Overanxious disorder of childhood

DSM IV and ICD 10

To a layman, the classification of anxiety order for DSM IV and ICD 10 are quite similar. However, some difference exists based on four aspects. These four aspects are inclusion and exclusion criteria, identifying criteria, and typology. The current studies use the data of the Australian National Mental Health Survey to study the impact of these different anxiety disorders and generalized anxiety disorders. The result of this study shows that there is a concordance between the current classifications that could be improved. 

This could be done by removing the criteria of uncontrollability from DSM IV and focussing more on symptoms of hypervigilance. This could also be done by removing clinical significance from DSM IV. There is an equivalence of classification criteria between these two systems. There is a demonstration that these two systems are set of independent diagnoses, but ultimately to reach concordance, all these diagnoses should be considered together.


ICD 10 allows diagnosis of Generalized Anxiety Disorder in the following ways. There is at least a prominent period of six months. This period has worry, prominent tension, and feelings of apprehension about everyday events and problems. At least four symptoms out of all this should be present. 

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter